Pauseforamoment


Romancing the Father
March 19, 2008, 12:36 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

“She is a woman, and therefore to be wooed; she is a woman, and therefore to be loved,” or something like that, the Bard said, long ago. I was pondering the other day how my heart is something that is to be won, not just once, but all the time. When we enter into marriage, we make that heart-covenant, and we are won once and for all, but as a woman, love is more than that. Love on a daily basis means that I like to be wooed, chased after, sought after, not in the same way, but in different ways. I like my husband to search for my heart, run after it, win it to his in a fresh way. I am worthy of this. I like to be pursued. If we are romanced every day in the same way, it is ok, but it can become rote-love. We women were not made that way. We like the fresh manna!

I was seeking the Lord one day, and I had the strong sense that His heart is just like mine. He is a romantic; He likes to be sought after, courted, won over in different ways. So often we approach our relationship with the Father like a textbook (did you ever hear the old ACTS synonym? Adoration, confession, thanksgiving and supplication?). Doesn’t He get bored with that? I believe the Father’s heart is like mine. I don’t want to be taken for granted. I love my husband, and being loved in any way is great, but there is something in me that says, “Come on honey! Find me! Find my heart! What am I desiring today? Unwrap my heart and woo me to yourself.” The Father is the same.

I began to chase after Him. Did He desire me to worship Him? Pour out a heart of love or just wait before Him in silent adoration? Sing songs with no words but pouring out my heart-song to Him? It was like following a rabbit trail: where are you today, my Beloved? How can I love you? How can I bless you this day? There was such a sense of romance, in the chase. His heart is worthy, and it belongs to me, but He desires me to chase after it, see it as a golden prize that is hidden, but able to be found.

My desire is to know what it is to romance the Father, love Him in a way that He desires. He made us to worship Him. He is worthy to be pursued, wooed and romanced.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This is really, really good.

Comment by Nicole

Thanks, Nic.

Comment by pauseforamoment




Leave a comment