Pauseforamoment


Easter
March 22, 2008, 1:55 pm
Filed under: God thoughts, life, marriage

In these parts we get a blanket four days off for Easter – Good Friday and Easter Monday being public holidays. It makes for a nice four day weekend, something we have desperately needed. Hubs and I intended to go away, but somehow it just didn’t happen, and when we finally looked for somewhere to stay last week, it was just the dregs left over. I would rather stay at home than be somewhere daggy and boring, so, here we are. I love just being with my husband; this morning we washed the cars, so romantic.

 We tend not to do anything special for Easter in terms of its religious significance. Back when I attended a more traditional Baptist-type church (which I loved, for that time) we always had a service on Good Friday, and an extra-special one on Easter Sunday. Our church now doesn’t do anything special. We don’t observe Lent or any of the feasts. The reasoning behind this is that quite often we’ll use those things to ‘be spiritual’ at that time, or to feel that we are closer to God for the doing of those things. I guess we see that it is more important to live a daily life of remembrance and honouring God for His supreme sacrifice, than to focus on it for a period of special days. We try to build into our lives a daily feast and passion for holiness. We still, however, teach the children at church about Easter and we are having a picnic tomorrow as a church rather than a meeting. We will ‘do’ church by enjoying each outdoors, and I’m sure an Easter egg or two may make an appearance.

I like to have little traditions, though, and I am building a few for our family. We tend to have hot cross buns for breakfast on Good Friday, and on Easter Sunday I’ll follow my family’s tradition by serving hard-boiled eggs. I may even colour them the way my mother used to. I’ll never forget the vivid memories of waking early on Easter Sunday morning, and heading out into the garden with my siblings to hunt for eggs. My mother always hard-boiled some eggs in different colours, and I remember sitting on the lawn, dividing up the spoils, and eating those eggs which had their own special Easter flavour.

Easters as a teen tended to revolve around youth camps. Quite a few of these would involve a silent Sunday morning march up the hill, and a sunrise service, followed by a breakfast full of talk and laughter back at the camp. Good times.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

hey there. We made hot cross buns… but they were more like rocks this year. I need to put away that special OFFICIAL hot cross bun recipe, and go back to my mom’s simple one. 🙂

We didn’t do lent this year. I didn’t feel God was asking me to give anything up, so I didn’t. Next year I’d like us to do something as a family… we’ll see.

Enjoy the weather… sounds better than ours… although ours is improving. 🙂

Comment by reneegrace

I love HCB! I normally buy a few packets to freeze, but didn’t this year – easter just flew by!

The weather is superb – warm and sunny, not too hot.

Comment by pauseforamoment




Leave a comment